Summer of Unity–Week #11

Unity

Our Passage of the Week for Sunday is 1 Corinthians 1:10-13.

Divisions in the Church
10 I appeal to you, brothers, by the name of our Lord Jesus Christ, that all of you agree, and that there be no divisions among you, but that you be united in the same mind and the same judgment. 11 For it has been reported to me by Chloe’s people that there is quarreling among you, my brothers. 12 What I mean is that each one of you says, “I follow Paul,” or “I follow Apollos,” or “I follow Cephas,” or “I follow Christ.” 13 Is Christ divided? Was Paul crucified for you? Or were you baptized in the name of Paul?

We invite you to join us in meditating on this passage and asking 3 Questions:

1) God, what are you saying about Your Character and Nature?
2) God, what are you saying about how You see me?
3) God, what are you saying about how I can pursue You?

Feel free to share below!

One Response to Summer of Unity–Week #11

  1. Tony says:

    The Lord is Holy and commands us to be holy.
    He is one. Jesus prayer in the Garden was:

    Jn 17:20 — Jn 17:24
    Jesus Prays for All Believers
    “I do not pray for these alone, but also for those who will believe in Me through their word;
    that they all may be one, as You, Father, are in Me, and I in You; that they also may be one in Us, that the world may believe that You sent Me.
    And the glory which You gave Me I have given them, that they may be one just as We are one:
    I in them, and You in Me; that they may be made perfect in one, and that the world may know that You have sent Me, and have loved them.

    There is said that there are over 35000 denominations calling themselves Christian.

    To use the verse you quote where Paul asks the question, “is Christ divided”, ?

    Jn 17:20 — Jn 17:24
    Jesus Prays for All Believers
    “I do not pray for these alone, but also for those who will believe in Me through their word;
    that they all may be one, as You, Father, are in Me, and I in You; that they also may be one in Us, that the world may believe that You sent Me.
    And the glory which You gave Me I have given them, that they may be one just as We are one:
    I in them, and You in Me; that they may be made perfect in one, and that the world may know that You have sent Me, and have loved them as You have loved Me.

    God is one and desires that His church be one so that the world may know that Jesus was sent from God.
    Today it is said that there are over 25000 denominations calling themselves Christians.

    The Word denomination means division and nondenominational is a division as well and therefore we should be asking as Paul did, “is Christ divided”,?

    The last church mentioned in the book of Revelation, Laodicea, literally means people’s opinions.

    I believe that the Lord is calling people out of denominationalism.

    You can’t have unity when everybody believes either what they want to believe or what their denominations tell them to believe.
    What does God want of me?

    To do justly

    Love mercy

    Walk humbly with my God

    I believe I am to pray for His church. Pray for God to be glorified in His body.

Leave a Reply

